MY HEART: MULTIPLICATION or DIVISION

My reaction to my 1st born is probably a natural, stereotyped reaction any parent has towards their child. When I saw her for the 1st time, I made all the same promises to my child that most parents make. I promised her I would love her, I promised her I would protect her and silently I promised myself I would annihilate any person who ever hurt her (a very Christ-like response really demonstrating I never understood God’s heart of LOVE at all). Praise God one of the promises I also made was to train her up in the way of the Lord that was appropriate for her so as she grew and we faced challenges together, I realized I needed to change some values that were not biblical.

My biggest challenge to loving my child came when I realized I was expecting my 2nd child.

I loved this little child so intensely in my life, I could not fathom how there would ever be a place in my heart for my 2nd child. For many months I struggled inwardly with the concept of having to love two kids. The picture I mentally had for each kid was that they would each have a turn to be the centre of my heart. It felt like my heart was going to be compartmentalized, and that I would need to become this very good actor and manager who would have to learn not to reject the child that was not centre of my heart at that point. My reasoning was I thought acting like that, becoming a good manager or having a good façade, would keep the door open to loving them later and not rejecting them. Little did I realize Love is experienced and that actions carry an experience with them.

When Baby no 2 was born, I felt all the same emotions as I felt with Baby no 1. I could handle that because I had expected that. What I did not expect was the love I still had for Baby no 1. That surprised me and shocked me all at the same time. My love for my 1st born never diminished or disappeared! I was grateful that my heart had the capacity to multiply to be able to love 2 kids and that each child did not need to receive portions of my love at intervals.

Through the years I’ve continually referred back to this principle of multiplication to to understand God’s heart even more. When I felt the urge to write about this, I asked God for the scriptural reference and God immediately took me to the story of The Prodigal Son (Luke 15). I did not make the connection immediately, as in my mind the Father kept waiting for His lost Son. He was been a good Father. He was doing exactly what I would have done.

But a gentle nudge highlighted the OLDER BROTHER and God said to me: “Many of my children know I love them, but they don’t understand I love them as much as I love their brother or sister. Many of my children have the mind set of the older brother where it is only me or him that CAN be blessed. They don’t see that I AM ABLE AND WANT to bless them both. What I do for ONE of my children, I AM ABLE AND WANT to do for them all.
They have not grasped that my heart has a multiplication ability and that their brothers and sisters don’t leave me bankrupt or unable to love them or to fulfill their needs. What I give to one, I am able to give to 10, to a 100, to a 100 000, I am able to give to every person who has lived, who is living and to those who are still to be born in this life.
Rom 8:39
39 Nor height , nor depth , nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Eph 3:17-20
17 that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love,
18 may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and the length and depth and height
19 to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.
20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us,

In v20, the POWER is referring to the DUNAMIS POWER OF GOD {miraculous power (usually by implication, a miracle itself):ability, abundance, meaning, might (worker of) miracle (-s), power, strength, violence, mighty (wonderful) work.}
I never realized until writing this post that God’s love was refered to twice in the Word as the width and length and depth or height and any created thing:
1st was us realizing that nothing (not a brother or a sister) separates us from the love of God; and
2nd was us realizing with the saints (my brothers and sisters in Christ, the OTHER brother or sister) what the width and length and depth and height of God’s love is. The 2nd revelation roots us and grounds us in the love that the 1st revelation revealed to us.

Loving Each Other

IS THERE PLACE IN MY HEART TO LOVE GOD AND TO ALLOW GOD TO LOVE MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS?

Leave a Reply

